“Mewsette on the Afghan” Prints and Gift Items

black cat on colorful afghan

“Mewsette on the Afghan”, cropped.

Something colorful, warm and homey for the holidays, not just for me and the comforting familiarity of this scene, both Mewsette and the afghan, but also based on the feedback from people who remarked about it when I posted it on February 7, 2014.

I’ve been waiting for this month’s calendar to come around and I’m excited December is finally here. This sketch was very popular when I first posted it and as I loosely planned out the second half of this year’s desktop calendars I knew I’d want to use this one in the fall, initially for November and Thanksgiving, but decided December would be better for all the holidays that happen during this month.

Below is what I said about the sketch when I first posted it.

. . . . . . .

Mewsette nearly blends in with the afghan.

I’ll admit, this took a little longer than the usual 15 minutes maximum. I’ve been holding off the sketches with this afghan just because I knew they’d be time-consuming for part of the charm is the detail of all the colors. Today I could not pass up pretty Mewsette quietly napping on the afghan, especially when she opened her big yellow eyes. I drew the basic sketch in black, then later filled in the colors with every marker I have in the house. This afghan is more muted than this sketch shows, but I like the bright colors too.

I love that old afghan. My mother crocheted it years ago from a 1944 pattern book out of scraps of wool yarn. Each granny square is made of four rows, each a different color, with one last row of black; when the squares are sewn together there are two rows of black between each color set which gives it this stained-glass effect.

. . . . . . .

Above I’ve posted the cropped version, but below is what the actual original sketch looked like. I think I like it this way too.

black cat on colorufl afghan

“Mewsette on the Afghan”, markers , 6″ x 7″ © Bernadette E. Kazmarski

I have to admit, I will really miss Stanley on my desktop. He was my desktop wallpaper for years, but looking at this calendar makes me happy. I hope it makes you happy too!

Mewsette on the Afghan 5x7 print.

Mewsette on the Afghan 5×7 print.

Where to find this artwork

You can find this artwork printed on paper and canvas in various sizes, giclee as well as digital prints, in my Etsy shop. To find other products and handmade goods bearing this art, search my Etsy shop for the title.

 

 

 


Click here to see daily sketches, click here to see daily photographs

click here to see other artwork featured on The Creative Cat

or visit Fine Art and Portraiture on my main website.

If you are interested in a print of this image, check my Etsy shop to see if I have it available already. If you don’t find it there, visit Ordering Custom Artwork for more information on a custom greeting card, print or other item.

.


Subscribe to My E-newsletter

Subscribe to The Creative Cat e-newsletter for specials on exclusively feline-themed art and merchandise.

All images used on this site are copyrighted to Bernadette E. Kazmarski unless otherwise noted and may not be used without my written permission. Please ask if you are interested in using one in a print or internet publication. If you are interested in purchasing a print of this image or a product including this image, check my Etsy shop to see if I have it available already. If you don’t find it there, visit Ordering Custom Artwork for more information on a custom greeting card, print or other item.


Inspired by felines you know! Visit Portraits of Animals on Etsy.

AfterDinnerNap-Etsy


© 2014 | www.TheCreativeCat.net | Published by Bernadette E. Kazmarski

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | LINKEDIN | ETSY SHOP | PINTEREST | TUMBLR | STUMBLEUPON | GOOGLE+ | EMAIL

HOME

Leave a Reply

