Kelly’s Morning Bath 1 with Autumn Leaf Rice Paper

matted framed linoleum block print of cat

Kelly's Morning Bath 1 on leaf paper in tan.

Kelly gives herself a complete bath every morning after breakfast on the table in front of the window in my studio, her every move full of purpose and industry.

I print Kelly’s Morning Bath Nos. 1 and 2 on various handmade papers to simulate the morning light outside the window, sometimes with tints of yellow from marigold petals, sometimes shades of green from fern leaves. This print captures an autumn morning, when the leaves on my maple trees have colored and filter the sun, speckling the table with splashes of sun and shadow.

matted framed linocut of cat

Kelly's Morning Bath 1 on leaf paper in ecru.

detail of print

Kelly's Morning Bath, detail of autumn leaf paper

I really loved this paper with the big tan maple leaves imprinted in a random pattern. I purchase papers at a variety of art stores and at festivals where artisans make and/or decorate the paper, and sometimes even do a little papermaking myself. When all the prints on that paper are gone that’s all there is, and these are the last two prints left that were printed on this paper.

This print captures an autumn morning, when the leaves on my maple trees have colored and filter the sun, speckling the table with splashes of sun and shadow.

linocut only detail

Just the print.

Each print is double-matted with a either the tan black core mat or the ecru black core mat. The image size is 4″ x 10″, the frame size is 7″ x 14″. The frame is matte-finish black composite wood.

Block printing is a technique wherein the artist carves the surface of a piece of linoleum, leaving raised areas which will become the image. Ink is rolled onto these raised areas, then a piece of paper is pressed against the block and when it’s lifted away the ink remains, leaving the image on the paper. Because of this process, each print is slightly different and therefore unique.

I usually print a series of six prints, preparing my papers ahead of time, then offering them matted and framed, matted only, print only, hand-tinted and sometimes incorporated into another type of work.

I carved and printed this one according to my first idea, then decided I might like each scene to have a border and a little more detail, so you’ll also find Kelly’s Morning Bath 2. In addition to this matted print, they are available as a print alone or matted with no frame. In addition to the printing them as wall art, I also print them on other items such as curtains, placemats, tablecloths and other household items.

You can find this set of prints in my Etsy shop under Kelly’s Morning Bath, Linoleum Block Print in Tan and Kelly’s Morning Bath, Linoleum Block Print in Ecru, or if you are local to me I actually have these on display in my shop in Carnegie, in the back room at Carnegie Antiques, 423 West Main Street.

Leave a Reply

