A Really Big Kitty

framed linoleum block print of leopard

Yes?

“Yes?”

Who doesn’t love a leopard’s spots? Some subjects, such as this one, are meant for the stark clarity of block printing. This particular leopard was at the zoo, but she managed to keep her dignified bearing in questioning why I was so intent on her behind—I was actually trying to get a closeup photo of her spots for future reference, but when she turned around I knew I had the best shot for this.

Block printing is a technique wherein the artist carves the surface of a piece of linoleum, leaving raised areas which will become the image. Ink is rolled onto these raised areas, then a piece of paper is pressed against the block and when it’s lifted away the ink remains, leaving the image on the paper.

block print of leopard

Yes?

I also currently have this print unframed, printed in black on white rice paper.

I also print this image on textiles, such as t-shirts, curtains, tablecloths, shawls and tote bags! Please check my apparel and housewares categories to see what’s currently available, and I’ll be sure to post new things here as I do them.

Because of the nature of the medium, each print is unique and ink coverage is not always perfect. Most artists consider this random activity to be part of the process of creating an individualized print, and along with the hand-painting makes a unique work of art.

Image is 7.5″ x 10″, framed in an 8.5″ x 11″ plain black frame with glass. You can find her in my Etsy shop, and also browse other linoleum block prints, giclees and digital prints and original art.

This print is also in my shop in Carnegie Antiques at 423 West Main Street in Carnegie. Stop in and visit me on Wednesdays, 11 to 3!

Leave a Reply

