Summer Landscapes

pastel painting of tree at dawn

The Old Apple Tree, pastel

For me, a bit part of the joy of summer is getting out there in it, on the trails, canoeing the creek, walking around the streets and neighborhoods of my town and growing my garden. And from that, of course, come images, paintings, photographs, block prints, and all the other things I do.

pastel painting of a field with trees

Summer Field, pastel © B.E. Kazmarski

I will always remember summer for the time I had to learn to paint en plein air during long, hot summer afternoons when the sun seemed to move slowly enough that I could keep up with it, out there in a field somewhere with my easel and drawing board, listening to insects and deciding exactly what shade a cerulean the sky was that day.

pepper in bowl

One Pepper, pastel C B E. Kazmarski

What better way to express a “fruitful” morning in the garden than with a quick little sketch? As I prepare for another summer “out in the field”, especially after renewing my studio in the house, you can find a collection of small and large original paintings, one block print, a few crocheted washcloths inspired by the flowers as they bloom in my garden and some very special aprons featured in my Etsy shop. Have a beautiful solstice!

Leave a Reply

