Greeting Card Sets: Animal Sympathy and Feline Art Cards, Flowers and More

greeting card selection from portraits of animals

Greeting Card Selection in My Shop

How quaint in this age of instant virtual communication—take a printed item that has an image and perhaps a sentiment, write your own note and send it off in the mail. Who would take the time to do that?

Plenty of people still do, and it’s a pleasure for both the giver and the receiver. I know I enjoy sending cards to friends for any occasion or none at all, and enjoy receiving cards in the mail, thinking of how the sender has chosen a card just for me and taken the time to write a note in it and mail it. I love browsing greeting cards but when I want to send one I rarely have time to browse, so I keep cards on hand.

Where to find my cards

You can find them in the Portraits of Animals Shop (pictured above) in Carnegie Antiques, 423 West Main Street in Carnegie, PA 15106.

You can order them from my website in the Marketplace Online Store under “Notecards” in the right-hand column.

Four sets of greeting cards for you to choose from

white cat on blue stool
Feline Greetings Art Cards

animal sympathy card
Animal Sympathy Cards

pastel painting of bench with flowers
In the Garden Greeting Cards

photo of angel in daisies
Inspired by Flowers

I offer four sets of greeting cards, two feline-themed and two flower-themed, made from my paintings and photographs. I sell them individually for $2.50 each, but the best deal is a set of a dozen for $20.00.

All cards are 5″ x 7″ , printed on 12 pt. card stock and include a matching envelope. Cards are blank inside but if you choose to use them for professional correspondence or for an invitation, for instance, they can be customized with your message for an extra $2.50 per dozen, minimum four dozen. I also offer a wholesale discount to those who’d like to carry them in a shop or purchase them for professional correspondence.

One dozen cards in a stationery box, $20.00, any combination

You can choose your cards:

  • from pre-packaged sets of all one design
  • from pre-packaged sets of all designs in one set
  • your own set of any dozen in any of the four themes
  • or your own set of a dozen chosen from among all four sets

One dozen cards is the same price no matter which cards you choose. Each dozen is packed in a clear-top stationery box, pre-packaged sets have a label on the back showing the designs inside.

“Feline Greetings” Art Cards

watercolor of cat on antique rocker in pretty roomThese greeting cards are created from paintings of the cats with whom I’ve had the pleasure of sharing my life—and that includes a few friends’ cats as well. It was through observing their feline grace and their individual natures that I found my muse as an artist and finally decided to get down on paper what I saw with my eyes and felt with my heart.

While I render many other subjects now it all began with my cats and the hopeless affection I felt for each of them and all their moods and quirks and manners of affection toward me. This is the gift they gave to me, and I will be forever in their debt, spending a lifetime to pay it off by sharing them with others.

I’ve included a mix of pastel and watercolor and a mix of styles, from realistic detail to loose impressionistic scenes so you have a choice for all occasions. Cards have only the image on the front, are blank inside, and carry the title of the painting and information about it on the back, you can write inside it whatever you want. Some people purchase them to frame as little prints as well.

Right now there area 14 cards in the series. Read about each of the designs and order in Feline Greeting Cards and Notecards in the Marketplace on my website.

Animal Sympathy Cards

I had had this idea from my first loss, but waited until I felt I could put my grief in images and design animal sympathy cards with more universal messages, not my own personal ideas. Many of my cats make an appearance here, Namir’s pawprints in “I’ll always walk beside you”, Lucy, who I lost at 15 months to FIP, helping me make the bed, and more. You can read more about the inspiration and creation of these cards in a post on The Creative Cat, “Pet Love and Loss and How it Gave Me My Art. While most have cats as the subject, one has a very special dog and two are non-specific.

animal sympathy card
They find a comfortable spot in your heart to live in forever and ever.

animal sympathy card
The sweetest memories often come in quiet moments.

animal sympathy cardRemember the best moments with love and joy.

While I am a fine artist, I have actually worked as a graphic designer for more years than I want to tell. Designing everything from letterhead to websites every day, the task of designing these cards was second nature to me. I was glad, for once, to use my commercial art skills to create something for my offering of animal art, especially since my poor neglected cats could just expire all over my desk before I took my eyes off the computer.

I’ve found, to my surprise, that these cards are sometimes purchased for the loss of a human, or even a “thinking of you” card for persons who like animals—I never considered this. You can find these 12 designs in Animal Sympathy Cards in the Marketplace on my website.

All-occasion Greeting Cards

“Inspired by Flowers” and “In the Garden”

These two lines of all-occasion cards are designed from my paintings and photographs of my garden and gardens I’ve encountered plus simply wildflowers I’ve met along the way. They are 5″ x 7″ , printed on 12 or 14 pt. card stock and include a matching envelope. Cards are blank inside but can be customized with your message for an extra $2.50 per dozen, minimum four dozen.

Inspired by Flowers

These 12 cards are designed from my own photos of my garden and yard and my walks along trails and natural areas.

Each photograph inspired a sentiment and thus became this line of simple greetings, so unlike most other cards I design which only feature the image, these actually have a message on the outside of the card including “In Sympathy”, “Get Well Soon”, “Believe” and more. In addition to the specific sentiments I’ve included broader ideas such as “Celebrating You” and “Follow the Rainbow” which can be used in a variety of situations.

In the Garden

These 8 cards feature my favorite paintings of gardens and still lifes, many of which scenes from my own yard and home.

I’ve included a mix of pastel and watercolor and a mix of styles, from realistic detail to loose impressionistic scenes so you have a choice for all occasions. Cards have only the image on the front, are blank inside, and carry the title of the painting and information about it on the back, you can write inside it whatever you want. Some people purchase them to frame as little prints as well.

Where to find my cards

You can find them in the Portraits of Animals Shop (pictured above) in Carnegie Antiques, 423 West Main Street in Carnegie, PA 15106.

You can order them from my website in the Marketplace Online Store under “Notecards” in the right-hand column.

One response to “Greeting Card Sets: Animal Sympathy and Feline Art Cards, Flowers and More

Leave a Reply

