Clearance on Current Tote Bags!

black cat in the sink

"This is my sink. Go brush your teeth in the kitchen."

At “Art What You Got”, the Polish Hill Arts Festival I attended last weekend, I totally enjoyed watching people stroll by my table, stop to read the tote bags and break out in hearty laughs. Clever Mr. Sunshine, with caption-writing help from author Allia Zobel Nolan, got the most laughs of all the bags with comments like, “That’s my cat!” “That’s just what he does!”

cat behind curtan

"Sophie Keeps an Eye on Things"

I sold several bags, and now I’m ready to move on to the “real” bags.

What? These were just “pigments” of my imagination? (Sorry, artist joke, poor one at that.)

No, they were just to stop myself from wallowing in indecision at choosing a bag and just getting the designs out there. After all, you can get tote bags anywhere, often for free, so the bag itself isn’t the important part in all this, it’s the design. And the designs were a hit, but the bags were just a little too small. They were a good deal, a clearance item at JoAnn Fabrics I found hard to pass up for the sake of experimentation.

black cats in tub

"Everybody in the Pool"

This was after the first experiment with the eco-cotton bags that were bigger, but were simply unbleached cotton muslin, the sort of thing I’d destroy in about a week. I didn’t want my art on those because I want my kitties to be out there for as long possible.

after dinner nap painting

"After Dinner Nap"

This time, I had purchased all natural-colored bags and dyed half of them black. Then I dyed them again. And again. And finally, they were finally black enough. That was a lot of dye and a lot of time and I truly tired of rinsing out my washer with bleach.

black cat looking in mirror

"God, I'm Cute."

But it bought me enough time to introduce the designs, to see if tote bags generally were popular, to research available totes and to learn the differences among all the myriad iron-on possibilities.

So now, what’s left of the initial run of bags is on clearance, nine designs, reduced from $15.00 per bag to $10.00 per bag. Not all of them are pictured here—please visit my Etsy shop to see which ones!

Leave a Reply

