Blue Tuna, original painting and 12 oz. mugs

three mugs with painting

Blue Tuna mugs with the original painting.

These are 12 oz. glazed ceramic mugs with the my painting “Blue Tuna” dye-sublimated into the surface. I am selling them individually, but will also a set of two or all three; see below. I photographed them with the framed original painting that was used to create the artwork.

mug with blue tuna painting

Section 1 of the mug.

This painting was an experiment on a “velour” style of pastel drawing paper. I wanted to get both the smooth transitions of light and dark in water, and the clarity of the reflections without really hard edges. Because the tuna are in fairly deep water, the ripple reflections are a little soft on the edges, and the velour helped to carry that.

mug with blue tuna painting

Section 2 of the painting.

The reproduction on the mugs is a little deeper and more vibrant than the original painting, but after seeing the proofs of these mugs I decided I liked it even though it wasn’t accurate to the original painting.

mug with blue tuna painting

Section 3 of the painting.

All three mugs are identical, but the design wraps around so I photographed it in three sections. Hope there’s no confusion!

If you would like a set of two mugs for $18.00 or three for $25.00, please let me know. I will fill your order if enough mugs are left.

Find them in my Etsy shop.

Original Painting

The original painting is also for sale in my Etsy shop. The painting is 18″ wide x 12″ high with a 6″ wide double slate-blue mat with blue core and 1″ wide silver metal frame with a beaded inner edge.

 

frame and mat on painting

Frame and mat on Blue Tuna.

If you’d like the painting and the mugs, please let me know and I’ll give you a deal on the whole thing!

And you can also purchase this painting as a print in various sizes and formats, and as a 5″ x 7″ greeting card in my Fine Art America gallery.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,340 other followers

